Posted in ocd

OCD: Let’s triple-check!

What does OCD mean? OCD is a short term for obsessive-compulsing disorder. It basically means that people with OCD feel the desperate urge to check certain things again and again or an individual number of times. I will give you an example from my life:

When I leave a room and I need to switch off the light, I don’t just switch it off and leave. I need to make sure that the light is really switched off. And even though I can see that it’s switched off because it is now dark, I just have to doublecheck. It’s like a small conversation with myself inside my head. “You need to switch off the light. You have switched off the light. Is it really switched off? Let’s check.” I touch the light switch. “It’s switched off. See? It’s dark. It’s switched off. Let’s just make sure it’s really switched off.” I touch the light switch. Sometimes I turn the light on and off. “It was switched off. You switched it on again. But now it’s switched off. It’s dark. It’s switched off. Let’s just check one more time.” This might seem whacko to you, and maybe it is, but to me it’s something I have to do. If I didn’t and just left the room, I would keep thinking about the light switch: “Did I really switch it off? What if I didn’t? You almost forgot to switch it off just the other day. You better go check.”

I have good days and bad days. On good days I couldn’t care less about light switches, candles, closed windows or doors. I switch them off, I close them. It’s okay. But then again, I have days when I just need to check, double-check and even triple-check. And I learned to live with it. In the end, it doesn’t really harm anybody. It may steal some time, yes. But on the other hand: My lights are always switched off. My windows are always closed when I leave the house. Are yours? πŸ˜‰

Author:

23yo autistic law student.

5 thoughts on “OCD: Let’s triple-check!

  1. The way I’ve learned dealing with it, it’s looking at my action on acting it. E.g. switching the light off; I’m looking at my finger(s) operating the switch, in a slower motion. This way it goes into my mid-term visual memory (which in my case is eidetic) from where I can retrieve at will for some time. I had to develop this because I’m also dyslexic/dyspraxic, which really slows me down πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I smiled with this post! Because I can definitely relate. I notice that the need for check-check-and-rechecking ramps up proportionally with my stress/anxiety levels. :))

    Thank you so much for the follow! I’m honored, friend πŸ™‚ Because I’m really enjoying your blog; your writing is excellent and I share so many of your thoughts and views ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

